November 24, 2020

FIBROID SUMMIT FEB 22 - 23, 2021

FIBROID SUMMIT 2021

Register using the link below:

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/fibroid-summit-2021-tickets-138660658763

A virtual meeting to enhance dialog between women dealing with uterine fibroids, their advocates and   basic and clinical scientists studying treatments for this common debilitating condition

                                               

                                                 Monday February 22, Tuesday February 23, 2021

                        1-3:30PM EST, 12-2:30PM CST, 11 AM-1:30PM MST, 10 AM-12:30PM PST

                                  Co-Sponsored by The Fibroid Foundation and The Campion Fund

Monday February 22, 2021

1PM EST:   Welcome from the Fibroid Foundation

                        Sateria Venable, Founder

1:10PM:    Welcome from the Campion Fund

                         Phyllis Leppert. MD, PhD, President

1:15PM: Welcome from Sponsor

                         Myovant Sciences

1:20PM:   Overview of the current understanding of the basic pathophysiology of uterine fibroids

                      Ayman Al-Hendy, MD, PhD

                      Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

                      The University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

1:45PM:   Comments and Questions from all attendees

                  Leader: Phyllis Leppert

2:15PM:  Short break:

2:30PM:  What have we learned about uterine fibroids from clinical practice and clinical studies?

                     Elizabeth A. Stewart, MD

                     Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

                     Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota

2:55PM:   Comments and Questions from all attendees

                     Leader: Sateria Venable

3:25PM:  Short wrap up and brief presentation of what to expect on Tuesday

                Phyllis Leppert and Sateria Venable

3:30PM: Adjourn

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

10:50 AM EST, 9:50 AM CST, 8:50 AM MST, 7:50 AM PST

10:50 AM:  Brief Welcome Back

                Myovant Sciences

                Sateria Venable and Phyllis Leppert

11:00 AM: Racial Difference/Similarities: what have we learned from COMPARE UF?

                Wanda Nicholson, MD, MPH, MBA

                Professor of General Obstetrics and Gynecology

                University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

11:30 AM:  Comments and Questions from all attendees

                 Leader: Phyllis Leppert

12:00 Noon: Break

12:30PM: Smart method to enhance direct drug delivery to uterine fibroid by injection

                  Darlene Taylor, PhD

                  Professor Of Chemistry and Biochemistry

                  North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC

1:00 PM    Comments and Questions from all attendees

                  Leader:  Phyllis Lepprt

1:30 PM: Future of Individualizing therapy

                 Sukhbir Sony Singh, MD

                 Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Newborn Care

                 University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada

2:00PM:    Comments and Questions:

                 Leader: Sateria Venable 

2:30PM:  Wrap up

              Comments about how scientists and women dealing with fibroids can collaborate

              I.e. development of women interesting in being participants in clinical trials, ways for women to

              Involved in other aspects of treatment development and evaluation, advocacy for fibroids at

              Funding agencies, congress, state legislatures, interface with young scientists to get them to

             Consider uterine fibroid research,  consulting with pharmaceutical companies, etc.   Ways to

             Update women with interest in uterine fibroids by scientists,  Future summit in say five years?

             Phyllis Leppert and Sateria Venable

3:00PM:  Adjourn

This meeting is jointly sponsored by the Campion Fund, who is responsible for the scientific presentations and by the Fibroid Foundation who is responsible for the discussion leaders.